“Motivational” Posters

Image

When I first saw this poster on Pinterest a few months back, I almost threw up. The statement itself isn’t too terrible (other than the term “fat” clearly being used as a negative,) but slapping it onto a hyper-thin model is, in my opinion, completely detrimental. To me, this woman is NOT the picture of health. Just looking at her makes me hungry.

In only very recent years, I have begun to suffer from crazy-good self-esteem. I imagine this has almost everything to do with the people I surround myself with, people who at least promote loving your body even if it is something that they continue to struggle with. I don’t think I had ever met a woman who even claimed to love her body before.

I focus on my own health and fitness without comparing my goals or results with those of others. I wear clothes that make me feel good about myself rather than pining over an unrealistic size tag. I don’t watch reality tv or celebrity gossip shows, and I don’t look at beauty/fashion magazines. We are surrounded by a ‘standard’ that is anything but, and I refuse to live my life by it.

I made this poster, and I hope that sharing it will genuinely inspire you to do something healthy. Turn off the Kardashians, cancel your subscription to Cosmo, and do whatever it is that you need to do to stop shaming your body and start focusing on YOU.

Image

About Liby

A wise woman once said, "If you don't have anything nice to say, sit next to me."

One response to ““Motivational” Posters

  1. Awesome. And Pinned to hopefully spread it around.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 1,157 views

Blogs I Follow

RPG on a budget

Prepping for Gen Con

Midlife Crisis Crossover

Aging mind hosts pointless fight scenes among cultures of pop, geek, and faith

Chick Flicking Reviews

You'll never guess what a real chick flick is. ;)

Finding My Own Way

Hoping to inspire people to do cool things!

tbl0gging

An in depth exploration of benign minutia and other big words to bamboozle you while I talk about dead babies.

It's a Liby blog! @helloliby

Losing all of my friends, one blog-post at a time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

